Swiss Association for Responsible Investment (SVVK – ASIR)

Foundation of SVVK – ASIR

On 3 December 2015 the following institutions founded the "Swiss Association for Responsible Investment (SVVK – ASIR )": Pension fund of the canton of Zurich (BVK), compenswiss (Social Security Funds AHV/IV/EO), comPlan, Pension fund for the postal service, Pension fund for the federal railways (SBB), Public pension fund PUBLICA and Suva. The founding members of SVVK – ASIR manage a total of over CHF 150 billion in assets. The fiduciary duty of the founding members requires an extension of the investment process to include ESG criteria (Environment, Social, Governance). The foundation of SVVK – ASIR enables its members to fulfil this duty in the most efficient way possible.

Integration of ESG themes into risk management

When it comes to complying with ESG criteria, SVVK – ASIR creates the greatest possible transparency for its members by collaborating with the companies in the investment universe. This allows SVVK – ASIR to integrate ESG criteria as part of the risk management process in the investment activity of its members. Using the services of SVVK – ASIR, the founding members can optimize the fiduciary management of the funds in an appropriate and efficient manner – all in the interests of the beneficiaries.

Swiss norms and values

The founding members of SVVK – ASIR provide their services for the benefit of a large and representative part of the Swiss population. It is thus natural that the laws and regulations resulting from the democratic consensus as well as international agreements and conventions (e.g. the Convention on Cluster Munitions) should be taken as the basis for the definition of ESG criteria. The international agreements concluded by Switzerland also largely align with the 10 principles of the United Nations Global Compact, to which more than 8’000 companies from 145 countries belong.

Dialogue with companies

By screening and monitoring the investment universe of its members, SVVK – ASIR identifies problematic companies based on ESG criteria, focusing its analysis on foreign and global companies. A dialogue process is then initiated with companies classified as problematic. SVVK – ASIR considers engagement to be the most effective tool to support the interests of its members. Specialized external investment providers with the relevant network and expertise are appointed to engage in the dialogue.

Exclusion list as a last resort

If direct dialogue has taken place with a company identified as problematic, but has led to no improvement, SVVK – ASIR reserves the right to put this company on an exclusion list. This list is regularly updated and made available to SVVK – ASIR members. The decision to eliminate a title from the portfolio fully remains with each member of the association. The SVVK – ASIR exclusion list is published on the association’s website.

Membership

Membership is open to large Swiss institutional investors such as pension funds, social security funds and insurance companies.

Information on members

For more information on the members, please visit their respective website.

Board of Directors:

Other members:

For further information on SVVK – ASIR, please visit its website at:

Schweizer Verein für verantwortungsbewusste Kapitalanlagen (SVVK – ASIR)

Gründung des SVVK – ASIR

Am 3. Dezember 2015 gründeten folgende institutionelle Investoren den «Schweizer Verein für verantwortungsbewusste Kapitalanlagen (SVVK – ASIR)»: BVK Personalvorsorge des Kantons Zürich, compenswiss (Ausgleichsfonds AHV/IV/EO), comPlan, Pensionskasse Post, Pensionskasse SBB, Pensionskasse des Bundes PUBLICA und Suva. Die Gründungsmitglieder des SVVK – ASIR verwalten insgesamt ein Anlagevermögen von über CHF 150 Milliarden. Die treuhänderischen Pflichten der Gründungsmitglieder verlangen eine Ausweitung des Anlageprozesses auf ESG-Kriterien (Environment, Social, Governance). Die Gründung des SVVK – ASIR ermöglicht es den Mitgliedern, dieser Pflicht auf möglichst effiziente Weise nachzukommen.

Integration von ESG-Themen in das Risikomanagement

Der SVVK – ASIR schafft für seine Mitglieder grösstmögliche Transparenz bezüglich der Einhaltung von ESG-Kriterien durch die Unternehmen im Anlageuniversum. Damit erlaubt der SVVK – ASIR seinen Mitgliedern, ESG-Themen als Teil des Risikomanagements in den Anlageprozess zu integrieren. Mit den Dienstleistungen des SVVK – ASIR optimieren die Gründungsmitglieder im Interesse der Begünstigten und in geeigneter sowie effizienter Weise die treuhänderische und umsichtige Verwaltung ihrer Gelder.

Schweizerische Normen und Werte

Die Gründungsmitglieder des SVVK – ASIR erbringen ihre Dienstleistungen zu Gunsten eines grossen und repräsentativen Teils der Schweizer Bevölkerung. Somit liegt nahe, die im demokratischen Konsens entstandenen Gesetze, Verordnungen sowie internationalen Abkommen und Konventionen (z.B. Übereinkommen über Streumunition) zur Definition von ESG-Kriterien als Basis heranzuziehen. Die von der Schweiz abgeschlossenen internationalen Abkommen decken sich zudem weitgehend mit den 10 Prinzipien des United Nations Global Compact, welchem über 8’000 Unternehmen aus 145 Ländern angehören.

Dialog mit den Unternehmen

Mittels der Überprüfung des Anlageuniversums seiner Mitglieder identifiziert der SVVK – ASIR anhand von ESG- Kriterien problematische Unternehmen. Mit den als problematisch eingestuften Unternehmen wird ein gezielter Dialogprozess gestartet. Der SVVK – ASIR sieht im Dialog das wirksamste Instrument, die Interessen seiner Mitglieder zu vertreten. Mit der Führung der Dialoge werden spezialisierte externe Anbieter beauftragt, welche über das entsprechende Netzwerk und Know-how verfügen.

Ausschlussliste als Ultima Ratio

Sofern der direkte Dialog mit einem als problematisch eingestuften Unternehmen zwar erfolgt, dieser aber keine Verbesserung bewirken konnte, wird das Unternehmen auf die Ausschlussliste des SVVK – ASIR gesetzt. Die Liste wird laufend aktualisiert und den SVVK – ASIR-Mitgliedern zur Verfügung gestellt. Der Entscheid über den Ausschluss eines Titels aus dem Portfolio verbleibt uneingeschränkt beim einzelnen Vereinsmitglied. Der SVVK – ASIR veröffentlicht die Ausschlussliste auf seiner Website.

Mitgliedschaft

Die Mitgliedschaft steht bedeutenden institutionellen Investoren der Schweiz wie Vorsorgeeinrichtungen, Ausgleichsfonds und Versicherungen offen.

Informationen zu den Mitgliedern

Weitere Informationen zu den Mitgliedern finden Sie auf den jeweiligen Websites.

Vorstand:

Übrige Mitglieder:

Weitere Informationen über den SVVK – ASIR finden Sie unter: