Swiss Association for Responsible Investment (SVVK – ASIR)

Foundation of SVVK – ASIR

On 3 December 2015 the following institutions founded the "Swiss Association for Responsible Investment (SVVK – ASIR )": Pension fund of the canton of Zurich (BVK), compenswiss (Social Security Funds AHV/IV/EO), comPlan, Pension fund for the postal service, Pension fund for the federal railways (SBB), Public pension fund PUBLICA and Suva. The founding members of SVVK – ASIR manage a total of over CHF 150 billion in assets. The fiduciary duty of the founding members requires an extension of the investment process to include ESG criteria (Environment, Social, Governance). The foundation of SVVK – ASIR enables its members to fulfil this duty in the most efficient way possible.

Integration of ESG themes into risk management

When it comes to complying with ESG criteria, SVVK – ASIR creates the greatest possible transparency for its members by collaborating with the companies in the investment universe. This allows SVVK – ASIR to integrate ESG criteria as part of the risk management process in the investment activity of its members. Using the services of SVVK – ASIR, the founding members can optimize the fiduciary management of the funds in an appropriate and efficient manner – all in the interests of the beneficiaries.

Swiss norms and values

The founding members of SVVK – ASIR provide their services for the benefit of a large and representative part of the Swiss population. It is thus natural that the laws and regulations resulting from the democratic consensus as well as international agreements and conventions (e.g. the Convention on Cluster Munitions) should be taken as the basis for the definition of ESG criteria. The international agreements concluded by Switzerland also largely align with the 10 principles of the United Nations Global Compact, to which more than 8’000 companies from 145 countries belong.

Dialogue with companies

By screening and monitoring the investment universe of its members, SVVK – ASIR identifies problematic companies based on ESG criteria, focusing its analysis on foreign and global companies. A dialogue process is then initiated with companies classified as problematic. SVVK – ASIR considers engagement to be the most effective tool to support the interests of its members. Specialized external investment providers with the relevant network and expertise are appointed to engage in the dialogue.

Exclusion list as a last resort

If direct dialogue has taken place with a company identified as problematic, but has led to no improvement, SVVK – ASIR reserves the right to put this company on an exclusion list. This list is regularly updated and made available to SVVK – ASIR members. The decision to eliminate a title from the portfolio fully remains with each member of the association. The SVVK – ASIR exclusion list is published on the association’s website.

Membership

Membership is open to large Swiss institutional investors such as pension funds, social security funds and insurance companies.

Information on members

For more information on the members, please visit their respective website.

Board of Directors:

Other members:

For further information on SVVK – ASIR, please visit its website at:

Association suisse pour des investissements responsables (ASIR)

Fondation de l’ASIR

Le 3 décembre 2015, les institutions suivantes ont fondé l’« Association suisse pour des investissements responsables (ASIR) » : BVK Personalvorsorge des Kantons Zürich, compenswiss (Fonds de compensation AVS/AI/APG), comPlan, Caisse de pensions Poste, Caisse de pensions CFF, Caisse fédérale de pensions PUBLICA et Suva. Les membres fondateurs de l’ASIR gèrent au total une fortune dépassant les CHF 150 milliards. Le devoir fiduciaire des membres fondateurs exige une extension du processus de placements aux critères ESG (Environment, Social, Governance). Par la fondation de l’ASIR, les membres fondateurs remplissent ce devoir de la manière la plus efficiente possible.

Intégration des thèmes ESG dans le management des risques

L’ASIR vise une transparence maximale en ce qui concerne le respect des critères ESG par les entreprises qui se trouvent dans l’univers de placement. L’association donne ainsi à ses membres la possibilité d’intégrer les critères ESG dans le management des risques du processus de placement. Les services de l’ASIR leur permettront en outre d’administrer fiduciairement et prudemment l’argent dans l’intérêt des bénéficiaires, de manière adéquate et efficiente.

Normes et valeurs suisses

Les membres fondateurs de l’ASIR sont au service d’une partie représentative de la population suisse. Les lois et ordonnances, les conventions et accords internationaux (par ex. la Convention sur les armes à sous-munitions) sont une base logique pour définir les critères ESG puisqu’à leur source se trouve un consensus démocratique. Les 10 principes du United Nations Global Compact, auquel appartiennent plus de 8’000 entreprises de 145 pays, couvrent en outre les accords internationaux signés par la Suisse.

Dialogue avec les entreprises

L’ASIR identifie à l’aide des critères ESG, par l’examen et la surveillance de l’univers de placement de ses membres, les entreprises problématiques, axant son analyse sur les entreprises étrangères et globales. Un processus de dialogue est alors engagé avec ces entreprises dites problématiques. Pour l’ASIR, le dialogue est l’instrument le plus efficace pour représenter les intérêts de ses membres. Le travail de dialogue est confié à des spécialistes externes possédant les réseaux et le savoir nécessaires.

Liste d’exclusion, l’ultima ratio

Si un dialogue direct avec une entreprise est possible, mais ne peut conduire à une amélioration, l’entreprise est placée sur la liste d’exclusion de l’ASIR. Cette liste est régulièrement actualisée et mise à disposition des membres. Chaque membre de l’association décide librement s’il exclut un titre de son portefeuille ou non. L’ASIR publie la liste d’exclusion sur son site officiel.

Affiliation

L’affiliation est ouverte aux grands investisseurs institutionnels suisses tels que les institutions de prévoyance, les fonds de compensation et les assurances.

Informations sur les membres

Pour de plus amples informations sur les membres, veuillez consulter leur site respectif.

Comité de direction :

Autres membres :

Pour de plus amples informations sur l’ASIR, veuillez consulter son site sous :